Nepal: Seven chief ministers set to take oath of office

Kathmandu, Feb 12 : In Nepal, chief Ministers elected to seven provinces are set to take oath and run provincial governments for the first time in Nepal’s history, following the selection of Prithvi Subba Gurung as parliamentary party leader of Province 4 on Sunday, The Kathmandu Post reported.

These new chief ministers ? four from the CPN-UML, two from the CPN (Maoist Centre) and one from the Sanghiya Samajbadi Forum-Nepal ? will run the provincial governments for the next five years.
Gurung was elected unopposed as the Parliamentary Party leader on Sunday after contender Kiran Gurung withdrew his candidacy. “I will go to State Chief [Governor] to claim for government formation after two days,” said PS Gurung after his election as PP leader.
Dormani Poudel has already been appointed the chief minister of Province 3 and will take oath of office and secrecy on Monday. State chief Anuradha Koriala will administer the oath to Poudel.
Rest of the chief ministers will take their oaths by this week. Formation of provincial government begins along with oath taking ceremony.
Sher Dhan Rai (UML) has already been elected from Province 1. Mohammad Lal Babu Raut of the SSF-N, Dormani Poudel, PS Gurung, Shankar Pokhrel of the UML, and Mahendra Bahadur Shai and Trilochan Bhatta of the Maoist Centre have already been announced as their respective parliamentary party leaders from Province 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 and 7.
Minor drama took place in Province 4 after two candidates staked their claims to CM post from the Oli camp. Kiran Gurung withdrew his candidacy after party Chair KP Sharma Oli intervened.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.