AIMIM retains seven seats in Hyderabad

Hyderabad, Dec 11 : The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) maintained its grip on Hyderabad politics, retaining seven Assembly seats in the Telangana capital.

The party’s floor leader in the dissolved Assembly, Akbaruddin Owaisi, was re-elected from Chandrayangutta constituency for the fifth consecutive term.

He defeated his nearest rival Sayyad Shahezadi of the BJP by over 80,000 votes.

The other winners of the AIMIM are Mumtaz Ahmed Khan (Charminar), Ahmed Pasha Quadri (Yakutpura), Jaffar Hussain (Nampalli), Ahmed Bin Abdullah Balala (Malakpet), Moazzam Khan (Bahadurpura) and Kausar Mohiuddin (Karwan).

They were all members of the dissolved Assembly.

The AIMIM had fielded eight candidates, all in Hyderabad, and declared support to the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) in the rest of the state.

The party’s eighth candidate Mirza Rahmat Baig, however, failed to win the Rajendranagar seat.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.